About Us
Protecting Natural Resources in the Ossipee Watershed Since 1997

The Green Mountain Conservation Group (GMCG) is a community-based, charitable organization dedicated to the protection and conservation of natural resources in the Ossipee Watershed in central Carroll County including the towns of Eaton, Effingham, Freedom, Madison, Ossipee, Sandwich, and Tamworth. Founded in 1997, GMCG is a networking and referral resource for area residents concerned about land use issues in their communities. It encourages individual and small group activism based on common sense and non-confrontational approaches to resolving problems.


Research -To gather background information and, where appropriate, scientific information, including sponsoring scientific research, to further GMCG’s educational and advocacy efforts.

Education -To expose the general public to the critical natural resources in the Ossipee Watershed by involving various audiences in the following programs:

  • Monthly field trips, panel discussions, or slide presentations
  • Quarterly Newsletter (Watershed News)
  • Symposia on special issues
  • Annual Watershed Weekend

To define the various audiences that programs are designed to reach and measure success of programs by how effectively they reached their intended audience: general public, voters, landowners, youth, and municipal officers.

Advocacy – To present objective information with the belief that informed citizens will make good judgments about our unique watershed resources.

Land Conservation -To promote voluntary land conservation for the protection of water resources, wildlife habitat, sustainable forestry and agriculture and quality of life.

Encourage individuals and small groups to take positive action for our resource protection and conservation, based on common-sense and non-confrontational approaches to resolving problems.

Board Pix April 2017


Board Members

Larry Wogman – Chairman
Open – Vice Chairman
Nancy Wogman – Treasurer
Aysia Morency – Secretary

Town Representatives

Kristine Foster-Carbone – Eaton
Susan Slack – Effingham
Alice Custard – Freedom
Jay Buckley  – Madison
Emilie Talpin – Ossipee
Mark Longley – Sandwich
Kit Morgan – Tamworth
Peter Zack – Maine
Dennis Finn – Maine Liason to SRCC


Blair Folts – Executive Director

Corey Lane-Water Quality Coordinator

Karen Deighan – Education Coordinator